Passage

As I sat in my cube at work today, I had a word flash in my mind.  Passage.  In an instant my focus was carried away from the task at hand and fixated on Passage.  My very next thought, as I tossed this word around in my mind, was that this is the same word used to relate to scripture.

A little history:  Saying I’ve had a lot on my mind lately would be a huge understatement.  What I have endured not only physically, but mentally and emotionally over the last several months of my life has been quite the journey (and by months I mean lifetime).  A journey of learning to trust, learning to let go (REALLY let go), and learning to accept the things, people, and circumstances I will never be able to change. 

Thirty minutes before the word passage was placed in my mind, I made a Facebook posting about being in GOD’s word daily – how my prayer was to have only Him and His word guide my path, being a lamp unto my feet.  It’s funny how GOD works sometimes.  How He talks to my heart, grabs my attention and lets me know that “YES! I’m thinking about and love you!” 

I decided to research Webster’s definition of Passage and this is what I found:  The action or process of passing from one place, condition, or stage to another; Death; A way of exit or entrance: a road, path, channel, or course by which something passes; The act or process of moving through, under, over, or past something on the way from one place to another.

That’s when it hit me.  What a perfect depiction of the power of GOD’s Word, His Holy Scriptures, His passages contained in our Holy Bible!  His passages renew and transform us, passing us from “one place, condition or stage to another.”  Taking us from “death” to life everlasting by “a road, path, channel or course,” and having an intimate relationship with Christ, GOD’s Word made flesh.  How beautiful a vision He has given me with this correlation of the word passage to my heart’s desire of daily being in His Word! 

His Word tells us that He will give us the desires of our heart; Delight yourself in the LORD, and He shall give you the desires of your heart. Commit your way to the LORD, trust also in Him, and He shall bring it to pass. Psalm 37:4,5. This does not mean that our selfish longings – things we think we need, the greedy, self-motivating desires that we crave – will be granted. Rather, it illustrates that by living a life for Him, committing your way to Him, giving glory to Him, and putting Him first in your life, He will place HIS desires in your heart and bring HIS will to pass in your life. 

By trusting in GOD and seeking His will, we are molded by the power of the Holy Spirit into His likeness. He will rid our hearts of the foolish, fallen and sinful desires which overwhelm them.  Our likes and dislikes will be forever changed to reflect those of our Lord, making our desires GOD’s desires for us. GOD knows what is best for us and He is the One in control of His victorious plan.  His ways are not our ways, and His thoughts are not our thoughts. He is for us, not against us, and GOD’s ways and desires are truly our ultimate fulfillment.

His “process of moving [me] through, under, over, or past something [myself] on the way from one place [focus on things of this world and sinful desires] to another [His desires and ultimate fulfillment in my life],begins with a choice...my choice. My choice to have an intimate relationship with Him and to be in His Word daily is my right of passage, taking me from who I am, to who I want to become.  I choose GOD.  How about you?

Heavenly Father…Where do I begin? How could I ever put to words the gratitude, the wonderment, and the overwhelming love that fills this sinner’s heart?!  There aren’t enough adjectives in any human language that could even begin to depict the abundance that it holds.  Therefore, I offer it to you…my heart…with each beat, rhythmically in sync to its Creator, as it communicates to You in a way that only You can understand and decipher.  Thank You for Your Word, Father, and allowing it to be my passage to You, forevermore.  In Christ’s glorious Name I pray. Amen.

Deanna Clardy

September 13, 2012

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Deanna Clardy

Hi there! My name is Deanna. This space is for me and my thoughts. If you'd like to sit back and read a bit, feel free. I'd love to share my thoughts with you! Please feel free to leave a comment or like my blog! Blessings to you and yours!
This entry was posted in God revealing moments and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Passage

  1. Love this!! Thanks for sharing and yes, I want to be molded into His image …. not mine … but His!

Leave a Reply

