Wayward

I thought I saw you out today,
My heart leaped within my chest.
I sped my pace for a better view,
Not heeding my need to rest.
 
His stature was so broad and tall,
His gait was long in stride.
The swiftness of his movements,
Found me racing to his side.
 
His hair was neatly shaven,
Brown tones with hints of blonde.
A close trimmed beard upon his face,
Stylish clothes that he had donned. 
 
I quickly closed the distance,
Could this be my wayward son?
To my dismay, my heart again crushed,
There stood a stranger and I stood undone.
 
I stared as he kept on walking,
Remembering arms once outstretched wide.
Strong arms once used to hold his mom,
Now only sway with foolish pride.
 
I dry my eyes and say a prayer,
God have Your way in my life.
Return to me my child that I love,
Cleanse his heart of all senseless strife.
 
Remove all the unforgiveness,
Strip pride, deceit and hate.
Renew his mind, replace his heart,
And strengthen me as I wait.
 
Deanna Clardy
August 17, 2012
 
About Deanna Clardy

Hi there! My name is Deanna. This space is for me and my thoughts. If you'd like to sit back and read a bit, feel free. I'd love to share my thoughts with you! Please feel free to leave a comment or like my blog! Blessings to you and yours!
This entry was posted in Poems I've Written and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wayward

  1. Mom says:

    My Dearest Daughter, Deanna… What a beautiful poem! It brought tears to my eyes! Just keep praying, I too am still praying and I know that God does answer prayers. All my love to you!

    • Thank you Mom! I leave it all in God’s beautifully capable and loving hands! Love you!

      • Mom says:

        One day when Steven matures, he will wake up and say to himself, what the heck have i been thinking! I just pray that day comes very soon, and he doesn’t end up in jail or worse. He isn’t a bad boy, he just has a wild side to him, and he knows very well that you love him dearly. He is in my prayers daily. I love you honey and i am so very proud of you my dearest daughter!!…hugs and kisses……Mom

Leave a Reply

