The Battles That Rage

The day begins, a new and fresh.
Please clarity fill my mind.
The rise from bed, brings sense of flesh,
Prompting the thoughts that bind.
 
The battles rage, even in slumber,
Although the body sleeps.
The subconscious mind, thoughts can’t be numbered.
But are displayed through eyes that weep.
 
To lay things down, before they begin.
At the feet of Jesus Christ.
As day turns night, here once again.
The mind overturned by heist.
 
Does this change? Will progress come?
Will joy last more than a day?
To persevere, to push through numb,
Loosening all that is frayed.
 
I cry, I plead, what must I do?
When will this battle cease?
I know my worth, I know His truth,
But in combat it’s not released.
 
To seek the Word, and know its depth,
A lifetime of study and deed.
Yet even then, understanding its breadth,
The flesh will shun its heed.
 
Although His Word, is planted deep,
Within my heart is sealed.
The war does rage, the hill is steep,
I pray to Christ I’ll yield.
 
I step and fall, I get back up,
I’m scratched, I’m bruised and broken.
His hand extends, I drink His cup,
His love is more than can be spoken.
 
So try I must, and focus remain,
Though persecution around me roams.
To live in this world, but in worldly refrain,
For this is surely not my home.
 
Deanna Clardy
June 19, 2012
 
 
 
About Deanna Clardy

Hi there! My name is Deanna. This space is for me and my thoughts. If you'd like to sit back and read a bit, feel free. I'd love to share my thoughts with you! Please feel free to leave a comment or like my blog! Blessings to you and yours!
This entry was posted in Poems I've Written, Seeking God and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

