The Thief

“The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy;
I have come that they may have life,
and have it to the full.”
John 10:10

I don’t know about you, but I’m fed up with the enemy running rampant in my life.  It seems like every time I turn around, every time I “get a grip” on my reality, set my goals, my mentality, realign my focus on what I know to do, and how to do it….there he is.  Slapping me across the face and taking yet another slashing at my heart, making me feel like a failure, a hypocrite, and a horrible witness of Christ.

The enemy knows us all too well.  He knows our weakest points and he thrives on them.  He positions himself in our lives so that at just the right moment he can devour us like a lion feasting on his prey.  The people he chooses to use against us – he’s working in their lives as well, in an effort to orchestrate his concerto of malice and madness into our lives.  All while he stands in the shadows, baton slicing through the air, as the abominable conductor sets into motion his sonata.  Varying the tempo and vibrato, he gathers his key participants to infiltrate expressionism and dissonance, greatly anticipating the grand finale.  He demands an encore…I must choose a new cadenza.

I have a new song in my heart, placed there by the Great and Mighty Maestro.  A song so beautiful, so harmonious, even His angels know every lyric and accompany me.  Why then do I allow the throngs of the enemy to penetrate my thoughts and my redirect my emotions, allowing him to steal, kill and destroy the joyous refrain in my soul?!  How can such disillusionment permeate my being and create this façade of detriment in my life?!  And why does this repetitive cycle continue to loom in my midst in an effort to inhabit my reality?!

And God replied – “Have you considered my servant Job?”

In my opinion, throughout the Bible, there is none like Job.  His faithfulness to God, his love for Him, his trust for Him, his complete devotion, acceptance and adoration to Him is, and forevermore should be, our example in trusting God and living our lives for Him.  My existence, my life, my heartache, doesn’t even come close to what Job experienced in his, and I pray I am spared such things as well.  BUT GOD, in His perfect timing, in His perfect will, restored Job, healed him, honored him and used him for His kingdom and His glory.  How dare I complain?  How dare I doubt?  How dare I be downcast in my soul?

“Greater is He that is in me, than he that is in this world.”  I understand that there will be times of testing in my life, as there have been many, and many more will come.  This testing is not for His sake, but for my own.  To allow circumstances in which to lean on Him, trust in Him, to increase my faith, providing me with life-giving opportunities to flourish and bring glory to God.  To my self-will, I must die.  I must be completely emptied of my selfish desires, my human emotions, and reassign full accessibility of my “buttons” to the One in control, denying all access to others for their unhealthy manipulation.

Dear, Sweet, Precious Maestro of my life.  How Your melody soothes my soul!  Your staff directs my placement; Your voice continuously carries me through the pitch and tone of this chaotic world.  Forgive me for my times of emotional defeat in which I clung to past reactions and retort.  Help me to draw always and only from the wellspring of love that You have placed in me and in my life through Your Son.  May Your Word and Your response flow freely through my mouth and in my actions, replacing my distorted human emotions and terseness.  Help me to be the woman, the witness, and the follower of Christ that You created me to be, never causing anyone to doubt my authenticity, or to cause another to stumble because of the examples of my failing flesh.  Restore in me all that has been lost, be it credibility, trust, or virtue, due to my reaching back, instead of reaching to You.  I am a sinner Lord, and You are my Savior.  You are the Maestro, and within the concert of my life, You are creating Your Masterpiece, as I am a piece of the Master.  Thank You for Your benevolence, Your love, and Your magnificent power in my life.  “My heart and my flesh may fail, but You are my Portion, forever.”  In Christ’s amazing and mighty Name I pray.  Amen.

Deanna Clardy

March 20, 2012

About Deanna Clardy

Hi there! My name is Deanna. This space is for me and my thoughts. If you'd like to sit back and read a bit, feel free. I'd love to share my thoughts with you! Please feel free to leave a comment or like my blog! Blessings to you and yours!
This entry was posted in God revealing moments, Seeking God and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Thief

  1. As are you sister!! Thank you for reading and leaving me a comment! That means a lot to me! As do you!

Leave a Reply

