I Interrupt This Programming….

I’m not one to watch the news. I find it completely depressing, ruthless and a way for the media to wreak havoc in people’s lives. I’ve chosen to not give them that power in my life. I have often wondered who gets to decide what is “news worthy” and what isn’t. I have come to the conclusion that it’s all centered around programming. And it’s not their line up that I’m talking about. The media has a way of “programming” the public. When broadcasting “this,” they know that the majority of the public will react like “that.” Take for instance, I remember when the Gulf War was in its beginning stages. News casts were filled with reports of sky rocketing gas prices and how we were going to “run out of gas.” I admit it…I fell for it. Hook, line and sinker, along with the rest of the entire community. When I rushed out and drove to the gas station, there were lines a mile long. Havoc. Control. Programming. Oh, and plenty of gas.

My husband is addicted to television, and the news. So much so that there is a television in our master bathroom. Every morning, the news must be on while we are getting ready for work. This morning, after he leaves, and the tv was left on, a news anchor begins reporting on the outcome of a lawsuit involving the Dublin, Texas Dr. Pepper plant. It appears that Dublin Dr. Pepper will now be called Dublin Bottling Works and the world is in all a rage. The anchor began her report by saying, “Today, a new day is dawning. For the first time in 120 years, a new sign will hang. It’s been a battle between the big guy and the little guy, and in this case, the big guy won.”

Apparently, this lawsuit has been going on for months, and Dublin Dr. Pepper was sued over trademark issues and selling the product out of its territory. The reporter continued, “Every year over 80,000 people visit the Dublin Dr. Pepper Museum because of its lure for old fashion soda.” Another reporter stated “Tons of people were shocked! Our Facebook page was inundated with comments. People are flooding the site (ebay) searching for this product. Four generations have run this company and the owner was very teary-eyed during his interview.”

I’m sorry… “tons of people were shocked?” People “flooding the site?” It’s the name of a soda people!! I couldn’t help but just sit there in awe and think about what people get upset over, what they seek out, and search high and low for. “Flooding” websites…being “shocked” and dismayed over the name of a building and a consumable product?? Really? But then again, this is just one of a million stories in which I’ve shaken my head.

Wow…imagine with me for a moment….a world where those same people would harness that energy, and focus it directly on Who and what really matters?! Can you imagine people seeking out God with such passion? Flooding the stores, searching His word and buying up Bibles? Posting countless posts about Him on their Facebook page? Claiming Him as Lord in their lives and changing the banner that they fly for the world to see? Traveling from near and far to visit a place that stands for Christ and that offers His love and goodness? Teaching generation after generation of the One Who created this world – Who created them – loves them beyond human comprehension, and to have teary-eyes filled with love, joy and compassion as His good news is spread?!

Can you just imagine?? Now THAT’S a news cast I’d love to see!

This is me….claiming Jehovah Nissi (His banner over me), for the world to see. He’s the only thing I want consuming my life, He’s my new day dawning every day, and He’s worth every risk to be had by stepping out of my territory to proclaim and offer the world His good news! This is Deanna Clardy, signing out. Now back to your originally scheduled “programming.”

Deanna Clardy, January 12, 2012

 

About Deanna Clardy

Hi there! My name is Deanna. This space is for me and my thoughts. If you'd like to sit back and read a bit, feel free. I'd love to share my thoughts with you! Please feel free to leave a comment or like my blog! Blessings to you and yours!
This entry was posted in God revealing moments, Seeking God and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Interrupt This Programming….

  1. Donna says:

    Preach it sista!!!! Love your boldness!!!

Leave a Reply

