2012 R-E-S-O-L-U-T-I-O-N-S

Resolutions 2012

It’s that time of year again.  You know, the old “New Year’s Resolution” list of self-centered, half-hearted promises that typically last the first three weeks into the new year?  I know that reality all too well.  I have pondered what the word “resolution” means to me, and for my life.  I’m finally beyond the whole “I will lose 10 pounds, work out every day for hours on end, quit this, start that” mentality.  My life goes deeper and means more than that, and so does yours.  I’ve also come to realize that when Christ is put first, every other fruitful, healthy, prosperous desire will be manifested within me and come to fruition in His perfect timing.  I hope you’ll give my “list” a  read and maybe consider one or more for yourself and your life.

R – Remember.  “Remember the Sabbath day, to keep it holy.”  Exodus 20:8.  I give of myself to others all week…at my job, at home, to my family, kids and friends.  He gave the Sabbath to us, and for us, as a day of rest.  A day to stop all worldly clamor to remember Him, worship Him, praise Him, to be in His word and to spend quality time with Him.  He gave His life for me, the very least I could do is honor Him and remember His Sabbath day as He has commanded.

E –  Everything.  Everything is God’s.  “The earth is the Lord’s, and everything in it, the world, and all who live in it.”   Psalm 24:1.  He has blessed me with so much, I will be a blessing by giving to others.  He comforts me with His love, I will love through the heart of the Lord.  He forgives me of my sins, I will forgive others as He has forgiven me.  Everything is God’s, and He is my everything.

S –  Surrendered.  I give my all unto You Lord.  Everything I have, everything I am, is in You.  “Whoever wants to be My disciple must deny themselves and take up their cross and follow Me.  For whoever wants to save their life will lose it, but whoever loses their life for Me will find it.  What good will it be for someone to gain the whole world, yet forfeit their soul?  Or what can anyone give in exchange for their soul?”  Matthew 16:24-26.

O – Offerings.  I will offer myself, my time, my money and my talents in ways that will honor Christ.  “I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that ye present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable unto God,  which is your reasonable service.”  Romans 12:1. 

L –  Love.  I will love and not let fear, jealousy, wrath or doubt determine my steps.  “For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind.”  2 Timothy 1:7

U – Understanding.  I will seek His will, His understanding and His guidance, not my own.  “Trust in the Lord with all of your heart and lean not on your own understanding, but in all your ways submit to Him and He will make your paths straight.”  Proverbs 3:5-6.

T –  Trust.  I will trust others by trusting through Him and allow Him to show me who is and who isn’t trustworthy.  “Let the morning bring me word of Your unfailing love, for I have put my trust in You.  Show me the way I should go, for to You I entrust my life.”  Psalm 143:8.

I –   Inspire.  I will seek to inspire others around me and to always point them to the love and salvation which we have in Christ.  “All scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, so that the servant of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work.”  2 Timothy 3:16-17.

O – Obedience.  I will be obedient to Christ in His instruction to me.  To submit to Him and not of things of this world.  “Don’t you know that when you offer yourselves to someone to obey him as slaves, you are slaves to the one whom you obey – whether you are slaves to sin which leads to death, or to obedience to God, which leads to righteousness?”  Romans 6:16

N – New.  I will remember that I am a new creation and I am to be a reflection of Christ who lives inside me.  “I have been crucified with Christ; it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me.”  Galatians 2:20.

S –  Spirit.  I will look to His Spirit that resides within me for counsel, and not to the ways of this world.  He gives me discernment in the way I should go, and I will choose to listen to His ways, not my own.  “And I will pray the Father, and He shall give you another Comforter, that He may abide with you forever; Even the Spirit of truth; whom the world cannot receive, because it seeth Him not, neither knoweth Him: but ye know Him; for He dwelleth with you, and shall be in you.”  John 14:16-17.

Remember; everything surrendered – offerings, love, understanding, trust – inspire obedience and renewed spirit.

Father God, here I am again…at the end of yet another year in my life here on this earth.  You have blessed me beyond measure Father, and I thank You with all that I am.  I put the above “Resolutions”  before You Lord, and I ask that You fulfill each and every one within me.  Convict my heart when I stray.  Lead me always, back to You.  Help me be the person that You called me to be, and to always reflect Your precious Son to all I meet, and in all that I do.  Help me to abide only in You.  Write upon my heart and place in the forefront of my mind to always Remember; everything surrendered – offerings, love, understanding, trust – inspire obedience and renewed spirit.

In Christ’s Name I pray.  Amen.

For those of you who may be interested, I am beginning a reading plan that will begin on January 1st and I will be reading the entire Bible in a year.  If you would like to join me, just let me know and send me your email address.  I will forward to you the chronological reading plan that I have chosen to follow.  I would love to correspond with you regarding the daily readings, if you feel inclined to do so.  Thank you for reading my blog, and I pray God’s bountiful blessings over you and yours for the upcoming year.  May God always bring your R-E-S-O-L-U-T-I-O-N-S under His mighty hand, and lead you to the way everlasting.

“Brothers and sisters, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it.  But one thing I do; Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.”  Philippians 3:13-14.

Deanna Clardy – December 31, 2011

 

About Deanna Clardy

Hi there! My name is Deanna. This space is for me and my thoughts. If you'd like to sit back and read a bit, feel free. I'd love to share my thoughts with you! Please feel free to leave a comment or like my blog! Blessings to you and yours!
This entry was posted in Seeking God and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 2012 R-E-S-O-L-U-T-I-O-N-S

  1. the other d says:

    WOW and WOW again!

    You captured my heart and my goals for 2012 and then added a few for me that I had not considered.

    Here’s the things that God has laid on my heart in the last few days. Most based on our last conversations:

    I was challenged to come up with one word … and you know me … one word is not enough with my OCD … the first word … Wholeheartedly … whatever I do, I am to do it wholeheartedly unto Him. The second … intentional .. be intentional with everything that I do and that everything that I do is for His kingdom and His purposes … and the third phrase came to me today … all of me … He wants all of me … not just what I want to give him but ALL of me! No more leftovers … first fruits ONLY!

    I love God’s Deanna Clardy. And I am so blessed and honored that you call me friend. yes, the tears are flowing again … I am so blessed that God saw fit to cross our paths. God has used his Deanna Clardy to make His Donna Bostick a better person for His kingdom purposes. I have no words and will never have the words to express my heart to you and to Him for the work that He is doing in and thru me and how He has chosen you to be part of that work in my heart and in my life. So thankful that God nudged me to message you and ask that one little question that He had put on my heart for you!

    I am so thankful that He fills you with His boldness and courage to speak His truth into my life. That my friend is the BEST gift that you can ever give me …. except one more … and in His timing I know that He will work that one out too … to meet God’s Deanna Clardy up close a

    nd personal so I can talk Jesus with YOU face to face! I love talking Jesus with YOU! I’m thinking and praying for a miracle with that one cause you know it’s gonna take me more than one hour to get my Deanna fix!!

    I am so thankful and blessed that I get to start off 2012 with God’s Deanna Clardy!! So blessed! Beyond measure … beyond comprehension …

    My prayer for you is always the same …. that He will reveal Himself to you in new and amazing ways …ways that you have never ever experienced before. Praying that he will give YOU the desires of your heart! And that He will answer your prayers in such ways that you know it is HIM doing the answer. May He flood you with His presence every second of every day and may you feel Him and experience Him in your life every second of every day.

    LULNMW
    the other d

  2. carol costello says:

    Love the resolutions. Would love for u to email me your reading list! Thank u!

    • Thanks for reading and commenting Carol! I sent you an email on the chronological reading plan I’m using for reading the Bible in a year. Let me know if you didn’t receive it or if there is formatting issues with it! I will make sure you receive it!

  3. Thank you my fraaaaaannnnn!!! Love ya girl!!

  4. Edwina Botha Howard says:

    Good day, I am interested in your Bible reading plan. I hope it is not too late to get it.

Leave a Reply

