It’s 3:00 A.M. Do You Know Where Your Thoughts Are?

It’s 3:00 A.M. Do You Know Where Your Thoughts Are?

It’s 3:00 a.m.  Something has disturbed my sleep. This has become all too frequent for my liking, and this pattern has been a part of my “nightly” routine for the past month or so. Was it the dog roaming about the house that disturbed me? Something outside? SomeONE outside?! Ok, now I’m really awake! I lay perfectly still, nestled in with the comforter raised over my face, allowing only my eyes to peer above the blanket. In the blackness of the room, I begin listening intently for the sound to replicate itself so I can either confirm or deny its existence.  Nothing…….

Ok, now what Deanna? You MUST get back to sleep. You have only two and a half hours before the alarm goes off and you have to get ready for work! Hmmm, thinking of work…I wonder what I’ll wear? I wonder if it will be hot or cold? Oh, before I leave, I must remember to make sure the trash gets taken out. Did I set the automatic coffee pot to start brewing this morning? If not, I must remember to turn it on before I jump in the shower. I hope my alarm goes off! I don’t want to oversleep. Well, if my alarm doesn’t go off, my husband’s will certainly go off….but what if it doesn’t?! I know he didn’t get to bed until late…I sure hope he gets enough rest so he will be fresh at his job throughout the day. I know he wants to excel within the company and would love an opportunity for a promotion! It would be so great if that “right person” would present himself to him today! I really hope my husband would be a light to those within his company and stand firm in Christ. I know the people that he has to deal with are from all likes of this world, and I sure hope he doesn’t fall prey, but instead, reveals God’s light to them, pointing them to Christ each and every time. What a great example he could be to our world’s youth! Thinking of our youth….Oh, I wonder if my grandson is doing better?! I wonder if he’s still sick? I know that my daughter told me that one of the other little children at the daycare had RSV. Has he been exposed to it?! Gosh, I sure wish we could win the lottery so I could quit work and be there for my grandchildren and take care of them during the day while my daughter works! How IS my daughter’s job going?? And her husbands?? I sure pray that they are doing well financially and can provide for themselves and my grandson. I pray they aren’t struggling. I wonder if my son is still working with my son-in-law? Gosh, I sure hope my son isn’t running with the wrong crowd and that he’s taking care of his business! It sure was great getting to see him over the holidays, as well as the whole family! I wonder how my parents are doing? I know they all have some physical things going on right now, as well as financial. I SO wish we could do more than we have for them. We REALLY need to win the lottery! I wonder how my brother and sisters are doing? I pray they aren’t struggling with anything. I’d really like to get up to Indiana to see my sister and my brother-in-law and their three boys. I sure do miss them. I hope they are keeping in touch with the rest of family. I know my sister and her husband have a lot of friends they keep in touch with, I hope my brother does as well. Speaking of friends, I sure hope my friends are doing great. It sure seems like I don’t have many and the ones I do have I don’t get to spend much time with. Everyone has so much going on in their lives between work and their own family issues, it’s hard to get together. I hope their work is going great too! Oh work!!! I dread having to get up and go to work, but am so very thankful for my job and the ability TO work!!

Ok Deanna! Stop thinking! Brain shut down!! Get some rest! I know….I’ll pray!!! Praying ALWAYS helps calm my mind, spirit and soul and allows Him to speak to me! Why do I let my thoughts control me instead of allowing my God to control my thoughts, as I know I should do?!! “We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.” (2 Corinthians 10:5) Ok, prayer time!! My precious Jesus, Jesus, Jesus…come and rest my chaotic mind. I come humbly before You and……

BHOM! BHOM! BHOM! BHOM! BHOM! BHOM! BHOM!!

Well….looks like me worrying about my alarm clock not going off was all for nothing!  Two and a half hours….gone, just like that.

Sound familiar? I know…only the names and faces have been changed, but still….sound familiar?

Why do we torment ourselves? Why do we allow this vicious cycle to play out over and over in our lives and in our minds? Day in, day out, we allow fear to direct our paths and lead us in our thoughts.

Fear – False Evidence Appearing Real.

We give it so much power over us. Nothing, or no one, is to have that kind of power over us. Only Christ has that authority. If you are a believer, you have nothing to fear. He certainly doesn’t want us giving way to it and allowing it to manipulate our lives. He wants us to give it to Him – everything. He’s the only One that knows how to appropriately deal with it, and with us. What are you holding on to that is causing you to be fearful? Doubtful? What, or who, is manipulating your path? Stop allowing fear, anxiety, worry and despair to direct your way and your life. Lay it at His feet, and while you’re laying it down, pick up your cross, then follow hard after Christ.

Thank You Father for these opportunities that You give to me to come before You in prayer. Even the 3:00 A.M. awakenings, as I know they are yet one more chance to lay it all at Your precious feet and allow You to take captive my every thought. I know that You are giving me more opportunities to not only profess Your truth in my life, but to live it out in my daily walk as well. For that I praise You and thank You. I look forward to the time that my automatic response to those 3:00 A.M. chaotic perceptions will be an instant release of them to You through prayer. Not only in the 3:00 A.M. hour Lord, but to my every thought…conscious and unconscious. Thank You for loving me so much that You mold me and my character through these opportunities to follow hard after You, and thank You for Your grace and mercy when I fail, helping me up and placing me on the solid Rock for which I stand. In Your Son’s Name I pray, Amen.

Here’s to removing every ounce of fear, negativity, and doubt in 2012, even unto the day of Christ Jesus!

Deanna Clardy
December 27, 2011

About Deanna Clardy

Hi there! My name is Deanna. This space is for me and my thoughts. If you'd like to sit back and read a bit, feel free. I'd love to share my thoughts with you! Please feel free to leave a comment or like my blog! Blessings to you and yours!
This entry was posted in God revealing moments, Seeking God and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s 3:00 A.M. Do You Know Where Your Thoughts Are?

  1. Donna says:

    Thanks for another great message.
    Now to apply because you see, mine is @ 4am.
    Love ya my friend.

  2. Shelly bumgardner says:

    thanks for that!

Leave a Reply

