What IS That?!

Imagine you have been invited over to a friend’s house for dinner, along with a number of other people you know. You decide to join them, hang out for a bit, start to unwind, and then it’s announced that dinner is ready. You think to yourself, “Great! Bring on the grub!” As everyone is gathering around the table, reaching for a plate and staking claim as to where they will sit, you hear “So [insert your name here], would you mind saying the blessing?” Dun dun DUN!!! Sweat instantly forms on your brow, your heartbeat increases ten fold, you can’t even remember your name, much less form a holy sentence!  As the blood drains from your face, leaving you stone cold white, as your involuntary breathing mechanics kick in because you were oblivious to holding your breath, you finally squeak out, with complete hesitation, one word… “sure.”

Stop right there… what IS that? What is it within us that makes us more scared than a three-year old asking for someone to check under the bed AND in the closet for monsters?!  How is it that we can proudly hold conversations with our family, friends, and even strangers, over the most meaningless things, topics that we shouldn’t even be discussing, and then when it comes time to stand before God in the presence of those people – those very same people that He has blessed our lives with – we become completely stoic, embarrassed and ashamed? What IS that?!

It reminds me that we have no problem whatsoever cheering on our favorite sports team, lifting our hands and shouting at the top of our lungs, giving them all the graces under the sun.  Or going to a concert where your favorite band is playing, singing along, jumping up and down and at the end yelling “Bravo!! Bravo!! Encore!! Encore!!!” We support them, follow them online, plan extravagant parties to celebrate with our friends over them, we program our DVRs so we won’t miss out on their next screen time session, and we buy magazines or books with their names and faces splattered from cover to cover. Yet, in our church, in our car, or even having dinner in the presence of our friends, we are so apprehensive to lift our eyes, much less our hands, and say a prayer to God.  Are we so arrogant and full of ourselves that we can’t even have a conversation with God, a gesture of thanks for all He has blessed us with?  Can we not humble ourselves enough to honor Him with something as simple as bowing our heads and saying “Thank You Father,” to the One who graciously gave His life in order for us to have this life?!  This life in which we have the freedoms and privileges to follow our favorite sports teams or bands or whatever else it is that we follow?!  What IS that?!

I have a theory….

We are afraid of being judged… judged by the ones who already judge us… yet we don’t give a second thought to the One who is truly our One and only Judge.

We are ashamed… ashamed of how we might look through the eyes of others…yet we pay no mind to the One who bore all of our shame and sees our sins no more.

We have been scarred… scarred by the acts and behaviors of others, and we allow that scar to determine how we walk… all the while choosing not to acknowledge the One whose actions and behaviors took up the cross, walked in our place, and Who was pierced and scarred for our transgressions.

What IS that?!  I’ll tell you what it is…. it is wrong.

Deanna Clardy
October 19, 2011

About Deanna Clardy

Hi there! My name is Deanna. This space is for me and my thoughts. If you'd like to sit back and read a bit, feel free. I'd love to share my thoughts with you! Please feel free to leave a comment or like my blog! Blessings to you and yours!
This entry was posted in God revealing moments and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What IS That?!

  1. Grace says:

    WOW – this is so on point. I am making it a habit to say grace with my family whether we are at home or in a restaurant. You are correct; at first I was a bit apprehensive. But no more!!!!!!!!!!!! Whom am I not to thank my Creator for his precious gift of life through the nourishment of my mind and body? Christ unselfishly gave his life for mine without a second thought. It is my sweetest obligation to acknowledge that every time something amazing happens in my life! ❤ Thanks Deanna!!!!

    • Grace, I too am apprehensive! These feelings that I describe in my blog are feelings that I’ve experienced and it always leaves me questioning myself as to WHY?! I am praying hard for Him to instill confidence within me in this area. I can talk to someone ALL day about our Lord, I sing His praises daily to friends and strangers alike! I’ve always got His back, but there is something about praying out loud in the presence of others….and again, within my blog I wrote my theory on this. And… for me, this theory is spot on as to my apprehension. Thank you so very much for reading my blog AND commenting!!
      ❤ you sister!

  2. Lori says:

    The saddest part of all of this is . . . Christ longs for our thanks and praise. For all that He has done for us, it’s the least we can do. I have struggled with this at times in my life, but am being much bolder in my “public displays of praise” (PDP) 🙂 Funny how, when we have the most, sometimes we are the least thankful. Thanks for encouraging me to take my praise one step further! GOD IS SO GOOD!!!

    • Lori, I love that “public display of praise”!! That is greatness! I too love publically displaying my love for the Lord! Matthew 10:33 says “But whoever disowns Me before men, I will disown him before My Father in heaven.” As well as Luke 9:26 “If anyone is ashamed of me and my words, the Son of Man will be ashamed of him when He comes in His glory and in the glory of the Father and of the holy angels.”
      Thank you for reading and posting your comments! And yes sister…GOD IS SO GOOD!!!

Leave a Reply

