Comparisons

From “The Journey, With Ron Moore”

Galatians 6:4
Each one should test his own actions. Then he can take pride in himself, without comparing himself to somebody else….

Comparing ourselves to others. We do it all the time, don’t we? From appearance to attitudes, from education to experience, from clothes to cars to career, we like to see how we are matching up with those around us. But here’s the problem. The exercise leaves me at one end of the Pride Spectrum or the other. I feel either  “better than thou” or “woe is me.” Comparing myself to others is a “lose-lose” proposition.

Here’s the remedy for unhealthy comparisons.

  • Each one should test his own actions. At the end of the day, I will stand before God to give accounting of what He has given me. How have I used the gift of time, money, opportunities, and spiritual gifts? I will not have to answer for anyone else.
  • Each one should take pride in his own actions.Taking pride in what I do is not a bad thing, as long as I understand the Source and Focus of my actions. Anything worthwhile I do is empowered by the Holy Spirit, with the purpose of bringing honor to God. When I submit to the Spirit’s control for the purpose of honoring God…now that’s something for which I can be appropriately proud.

Father, please keep me from falling into the trap of comparing myself to others. May you always be the focus and standard for my thoughts, words, and actions. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

My comment on this….I was just telling someone the other day how ALL things are given of God.  Every ability we have comes from Him…even our free will comes from Him.  If it weren’t for Him, we wouldn’t have even been created.  Glory should not be given to self or of man…but only to God!

So wonderful to know I have confirmation from someone on this, and God knew I needed it and made sure I saw this. God is faithful!  God is supportive!!  God is encouraging!!


About Deanna Clardy

Hi there! My name is Deanna. This space is for me and my thoughts. If you'd like to sit back and read a bit, feel free. I'd love to share my thoughts with you! Please feel free to leave a comment or like my blog! Blessings to you and yours!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Comparisons

  1. I love this Deanna! I think it is so common for us all to compare ourselves to others, but this truly shows why we should not do so!!! Excellent!!!!

  2. shelly stephenson bumgardner says:

    Thanks for posting this Deanna. You are amazing friend

  3. Thank you Christi and Shelly! I’m very grateful for your friendship!

Leave a Reply

