Are you following man or Christ?

So, I step off the bus this morning onto the corner where I cross the street to get to my building. In doing so, I see a rather large group of people…pretty typical for this time of day as people scurry to and fro trying to get to work on time. As I make my final step from bus to concrete, I see about half of this large group begin to take steps forward in an effort to cross the street. About… three steps into their crossing, they all immediately, and in a hurried manner, backup to the sidewalk to where I’m am now standing. At this point, as I stand there trying to determine if it was safe for me to cross, I was a bit confused as to what they were doing. This is when I notice the illuminated “don’t walk” sign, and that the cars waiting at the crosswalk have a green light. It was in that moment I heard a woman out of the group say, through the midst of embarrassed laughter of others…”Well, I saw everyone else doing it, I figured it was safe to cross.”

At that moment I had this thought enter my mind….Then don’t be a follower of the world…it only leads to danger and will misguide you every time. When we have our mind focused on the wrong things, and we take our eyes off of Him, we leave ourselves wide open for the perils of this world to invade and overtake us…giving the enemy a footstool…all because we “saw everyone else doing it” and not doing what the One Who created us said to do…Follow Him. “Whoever wants to be My disciple must deny themselves and take up their cross daily and follow Me. For whoever wants to save their life will lose it, but whoever loses their life for My sake will save it. What good is it for someone to gain the whole world, and yet loses or destroys himself?” Luke 9:23-25

Father God, Please forgive me for the times that I have taken my eyes off of You and sought things of this world. Thank You for always being right there beside me, leading me back to You and the path You have established for me. Forgive me for being so caught up in the cares of this world that I missed the “don’t walk” sign and was a follower of others. Thank You for always being my CROSSing Guard and my illuminated Sign. As I walk the avenues of this world, may the Son always shine in my eyes, Your reign fall upon my land, and Your umbrella protect me from all elements not of You. In Christ’s Name I pray, Amen. Deanna Clardy 10-13-2011

About Deanna Clardy

Hi there! My name is Deanna. This space is for me and my thoughts. If you'd like to sit back and read a bit, feel free. I'd love to share my thoughts with you! Please feel free to leave a comment or like my blog! Blessings to you and yours!
This entry was posted in God revealing moments and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

